This one was a fighter

The baby boom continues around these parts.  And while the robot blanket and the (soon to be completed) moderne log cabin knit blanket went basically according to plan, this blanket fought me hard.  It really doesn’t look difficult but any way it could find to trip me up, it took.  It was sneaky, I tell you, sneaky.

See, it looks innocent enough, with its diagonal machine quilting over a single panel of (very cute) bicycle cotton. Yeah, that took me two tries. See the big border of grey fabric?  That was supposed to go all the way around with mitered corners.

“Not this time” says the blanket.  Not sure how I messed those up, but I REALLY messed those up. So much that I needed to go into the stash and find something to cover up the corners with.  Luckily, this little blue circle fabric matched close enough.  If I was really dedicated I would have blind stitched the corners on but to be honest, I was just about D for Done with this thing. I cried mercy and admitted defeat. The blanket smirked at me, reminded me of my place, and proceeded to turn out pretty darn cute anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

