Radiant Orchid Continues, so does my terrible movie watching

My Radiant Orchid quilt is coming along nicely.  Cutting, sewing and squaring up 60 trees was an exercise in zen.  Every little square is 3.5″ x 4″ with each needing to be cleaned up after the piecing was done. I will admit to doing this while watching both “The Host” (super terrible – not even interesting) and Ghostbusters (RIP Harold Ramis).

All blocks plus a whole lot of white ones for background

All blocks plus a whole lot of white ones for background

After all that was finished I taped them together using a ton of masking tape according to a small diagram I made in Excel.  I almost didn’t bother with this step and am so glad I did as I ended up cutting two rows out of my design.  This allowed a greater concentration of trees in the body of the quilt.  My forest was beginning to look more like a grove. Movies watched: xXx (hello, Vin Diesel’s abs).

radiantorchid2

I was going for a gradient of light to dark in my purple tones as we moved “deeper” into the forest but the balance was looking off.  Taking a black and white shot helped me to see what was going on.  I adjusted by moving a couple of lighter pieces to the top and connecting more of the trees at the bottom. Movie watched: A Fish Called Wanda (I love this movie so much)

radiantorchid3

Before calling it a night, I put together a 9×9 block just to see how the sizing was going to turn out.  I might fit into the baby quilt category in the end.  Not my intention but better that a bigger one I’m unhappy with.

radiantorchid4

 

One thought on “Radiant Orchid Continues, so does my terrible movie watching

Leave a Reply

